top of page



We provide a happy, safe, stimulating and challenging programme of learning and development for our children as they begin their journey at Essa Primary Academy.

Please see our curriculum document here for further information. 

We follow Statutory Framework for The Early Years Foundation Stage (2021) which sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well. 

There are seven areas of learning and development in the EYFS. 

The “prime” areas of learning and development are:

•         Communication and language

•         Physical development

•         Personal, social and emotional development

The “specific” areas of learning and development are:

•         Literacy

•         Mathematics

•         Understanding of the world

•         Expressive arts and design

There are 2 Reception classes in EYFS; one class is a Reception class (Hedgehogs) and one class is a mixed Reception/Year 1 class (Foxes). Both classes share the indoor and outdoor provision with two teachers and two teaching assistants teaching throughout the unit. A keyworker system is in operation to enable children to build strong relationships with adults and peers. Keyworkers are responsible for observations and assessments of their keyworker group and meet with parents once per term through our focus child approach to discuss learning and development.  

All adults use and value what children can do and build on what they already know through exciting and stimulating learning opportunities. The learning environment is inclusive and sensitive to the individual requirements of children, effectively supporting children with additional needs.

We build strong parent partnerships by developing excellent relationships with parents and carers and helping them to support their children at home. 



bottom of page